Oth\’s Thoughts


ConfComponent db Based configuration

Posted in CakePHP by othy on February 16, 2007

Hello, it has been some time now. My apologies for that, I’ve been kinda very busy lately ( whine whine..). But anyway I’ve found sometime to release something, and oh Ma! it is something! heh well, not really. This time I have a configuration component for you. I hear you saying, but cake already has a configuration system. Yes it has, and it’s very nice. really neat. But it’s not db based, meaning the configuration files are stored in files in app/config/. it’s no big deal but in some cases you have to use the db.

So anyway the component is in bakery along with a tutorial. check it out.

PS: If the links say the article doesn’t exist, you gotta wait until a moderator validates them..or write a comment with your email so I can send it to you.

6 Responses to 'ConfComponent db Based configuration'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'ConfComponent db Based configuration'.

  1. Kim Biesbjerg said,

    Still not published on bakery. I would like a copy. Appreciated! Thanks!🙂

  2. othy said,

    The component:
    http://bin.cakephp.org/view/1255369516

    The tutorial:
    http://bin.cakephp.org/view/583522849

  3. Max said,

    Nice, I’ve made a similar thing for my big application. But I’ve been thinking about, how can we give permission to all models to access this config model if I dont want to use $uses variable inside controller… Any suggestions ?

  4. Max said,

    I forgot to include that mine was a Config model…

  5. Luke said,

    Hi CrazyLegs / oth!

    First, I just want to say it is great you have written othAuth and also have been very active on the Cake group and IRC and this blog too.

    I have been trying to get othAuth up and running, but I have done this using the 0.5.3 code pasted in bakery – where I had to copy – paste the code, as the download links do not work. I followed your tutorial there, but I am having a few problems.

    Do you have a copy of the beginners tutorial that was on the wiki? Do you know where I can find it?

    I am worried I am using wrong code version maybe or, wrong Cake, also I do not understand the way it integrates default with the admin routes of Cake itself. I hope that makes sense! Please email me if you can help or reply here. Thanks

    Luke

  6. me 4you said,

    the icestorm cometh

    Yeah!. Congratulations for the blog
    Your post is very interesting .In your blog are a lot of good post..
    I’ll bookmark you.
    A462fc69b4462f


Leave a Reply

